Skip to content
Home / Who we are / Our Board

Our Board

Our Board provides strategic direction and governance, overseeing management and making sure we have sufficient resources. 

Our Board 

The UDL Board provides strategic direction and governance.  It oversees management and ensures there are sufficient resources and finances to realise the company’s functions. Specifically, it:

  • appoints the Commissioner taking into account candidates’ objectivity, qualifications (including legal and/or alternative dispute resolution qualifications), experience and personal attributes; and subsequently
  • supports the development of skills of the Commissioner
  • works with the Commissioner on succession planning
  • approves the remuneration policy for Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner.

Our six-member Board is made up of an independent chair and four independent directors, following advice to the relevant Minister, and a future director.

UDL's Board

Hon Heather Roy | Independent Chair
Heather has served on the Board since 2014. She was a Member of Parliament from 2002 – 2011, including Minister of Consumer Affairs (2008-2010). She is a professional director, chairing several boards, and principal and director of boutique consulting company TorquePoint Ltd. Heather is also invited to commentate on political forums on radio and TV.
Kyle Christensen | Independent Director
Kyle is a water resources and infrastructure engineer and is the Director and Chief Consultant at Christensen Consulting Ltd. He has served on the Engineering NZ/Water NZ Rivers Group Committee since 2011 and is the immediate past Chair of this group. Kyle is also a member of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Advisory Board for the University of Auckland.
Ruth Smithers | Independent Director
Ruth is the Chief Executive for FinCap and joins us as an experienced leader and manager in the not-for-profit and government sectors in health and social services organisations. Ruth was previously Deputy Chief Executive at Tui Ora, a large iwi-based health and social services provider in Taranaki. Ruth has also run her own management consultancy and serves on a number of boards bringing governance expertise to UDL.
Corey Hebberd
Corey Hebberd is General Manager for Te Tauihu iwi Rangitāne o Wairau, and a director at Manu Ora Health. Corey worked for electricity network company Marlborough Lines for over seven years. He also previously Chaired the Wellington division of the Cancer Society and sat on the Cancer Society national board. He served as a future director on the UDL board before joining as a director in 2023.

Kevin Angland
Kevin Angland is a customer transformation advisor at SAP, and a non-executive Director at Unity Credit Union and Banzpay. He spent several years as a director at the Electricity Retailers’ Association of New Zealand, and GM Retail & Digital with Mercury NZ until 2021.
Richard Wills
Richard Wills joins the UDL board as a future director from December 2023 to December 2024. Richard was a co-founder at Flick Electric and specialises in general management, sales and marketing, startup operations and new business development.